Felipe’s World | Recent Posts | My companies | Search

Welcome to my World!

Thanks for visiting my website. This blog is a mix of personal info, projects I've been working on, and news from the related industries (travel, web analytics and Montreal startups).

Be sure to check out my three sites!

Montreal NewTech Meetup Group YowTRIP I-Stats
Startup netwroking event in Montreal.
www.mtlnewtech.com
Social media platform for world travelers.
www.yowtrip.com
Real-time web analytics application.
www.i-stats.com
about this blog
Welcome to my world. My name is Felipe Coimbra and I am a serial entrepreneur. Everything I do, everywhere I go, and everything I see I try to make it into a business. This is what I am, this is what I do, and this is my blog.

Phone: 1.334.740.0424
Email: felipe(at)felipecoimbra(dot)com
Current location: Montreal, Canada
Travel: www.yowtrip.com/felipe
Kiva: www.kiva.org/lender/felipe9958

continue reading this article

recently on this blog


Follow me!
Subscribe to my feed: newsfeed


YowTRIP
Where am I going next?



Twitter
What am I doing now?



DandyId
Where else can you find me?

TechCrunch fooled by OurPlanet

13 06 2008

TechCrunch wrote an article about OurPlanet (I’m not going to link to these guys, because it’s a waste of time - trust me on this one!) on June 9. Too bad I didn’t see it until yesterday.

Well, basically they reviewed this new “travel site” that claims it will be “trip advisor, hostel world and lonely planet, rolled into one, but better” in 3-6 months… Right now, they “website” is a wordpress subdomain (eek) and the ourplanet.com is taken anyway…

So, the story behind OurPlanet is that they will select “30 lucky” people to travel around the world to build their “brand.” Sounds good, uh? Well, the guy behind this is Ryan Flynn. He contacted me (YowTRIP) in March about doing a partnership with Travellers 2.0 (the name he used to use befone OurPlanet).

The fact that he didn’t have a website raised a red flag, so I googled him and found out that’s not the first “company” he starts like that. There are quite a few blogs about him… from people who believed his BS.

Here’s one: http://thinklab.typepad.com/think_lab/2006/05/one_island_2_sc.html
And here are some of his companies: living legends -> white orchid / traveller 2.0 -> ourplanet

It still blows my mind that TechCrunch fell for this guy. Well, on TC’s defense, he’s been changing names lately, so they couldn’t really look him up… But come on!

Here’s TC’s worst article ever: http://www.techcrunch.com/2008/06/09/ourplanet-has-a-world-class-ego/ and my comments are at the bottom. By the way: Ryan = Sam, Chris, JC (Jesus?) in the comments…

JC (aka Ryan) claims “Ryan” doesn’t exist… here’s a video submitted to them… “Hey Ryan…” (This is priceless)

 
That SONG so-song song SONG! from Kat Ayala on Vimeo.

categories Filled under: Company Review

Leave a comment or two

This entry was posted on Friday, June 13th, 2008 at 5:51 am and is filed under Company Review. You can follow any responses to this entry through the RSS 2.0 feed. You can leave a response, or trackback from your own site.


5 Comments so far



  1. Felipe on June 13, 2008 8:35 pm

    Comment on TechCrunch
    JC
    June 13th, 2008 at 2:04 am

    Hello Everyone,

    I have just looked at the same things you have.

    2. Who is 123 whatever, there is no ryan.

    3. Think pad - look out it’s an opinion!!! Scary!!!!

    George W Bush is Great!!! It must be TRUE! It’s my opinion hahahaha

    I work on Our Planet, have no clue who this guy is, but to be BLUNT. Neither do you guys, hahahaha.

    London, Sydney…. If a company is registered in London, with a London office as stated on our site. What are you guys harping on about??

    3rd time, this is our first time.

    I’ve looked at this guy and all I see is people BITCHING!!!

    Look out, the Internet is FACT.

    Poor guy, sounds like you guys did a blog saying he was dead.
    ————————-
    My response:

    Dude, now you’re just wasting my time. The least you should do is cover up your tracks a little better.

    You guys have a channel in Vimeo “the30″: http://www.vimeo.com/the30
    And a video someone submitted is a song that starts: “Hey Ryan…”
    In case you delete it from the channel, I have a screenshot: http://www.felipecoimbra.com/images/hey-ryan.jpg
    And the direct link to the “Hey Ryan” video is: http://www.vimeo.com/950949

    So no Ryan, uh?

    Oh, your YouTube profile says you’re from Australia… So you might want to change that too. Just be more careful when you make up your next company, dude.
    http://www.youtube.com/user/infoourplanet
    I have a screenshot too: http://www.felipecoimbra.com/images/ourplanet-youtube.jpg

    Ain’t that a b***? The internet might be FACT afterall, uh? Whooya!

  2. Jeff on June 15, 2008 8:50 pm

    Hi Felipe

    I just wanted to let you know that ryan himself has accused me of writing the ‘ryanflynnisdead’ blog! if he was dead, the first thing id do is have a huge party, not create a wordpress blog and say i didnt want him to die!

    if he was going to write a blog about himself pretending to be someone else, he could at least use another blog website. he now uses that to show people that there are so many against ‘the cause’ when they just hate him for being a spanker trying to steal peoples money.

  3. Felipe on June 15, 2008 9:02 pm

    It’s just sad somebody would spend so much time and energy trying to scam people. If he used his energy to do something good, he might actually accomplish something. What a waste!

  4. Jeff on June 17, 2008 10:08 pm

    Just found this site.

    http://rfinfo.wordpress.com/

    Please leave any information you may have about ryan, I already have. Hopefully the blogger will gather enough evidence to convict him and have him deported from Australi.

  5. WEBSCAMMERS.NET - Ryan Flynn Information on July 15, 2008 6:49 pm

    I am “the original rfinfo” on furl.net as sought by the author of http://rfinfo.wordpress.com

    According to furl, someone from one of Ryan’s organisations made a complaint, their lawyers looked at it and recommended closing the rfinfo account. After some dialogue with furl, they reopened the account on the condition that I remove or make private links that are in breach of their terms of service (the links which are in question, by furl’s own admission, is a grey area for them). And so.. access once more to the information I had posted to furl, but then needed an alternate host, free of furl’s legal team’s concerns.

    I already had a large body of information collected since then end of 2007, so decided to create a new site to host this information and the links previously made available through furl. I have also been in contact with the author of the rfinfo WordPress blog, who has sent me some additional information - I will be collaborating with them in building this new website, which you can see now (under construction):

    WEBSCAMMERS.NET - Ryan Flynn Information
    http://webscammers.net/rfinfo

    To Jeff (and anyone else who has been burned by Ryan), I encourage you to report your problem directly to your local authorities - who those authorities are might not be clear. It could be the police, or perhaps a consumer advocacy or protection agency. Without actual reports from victims, little is likely to be done. Stand up and be counted.

    If you have a statement you would like to make that can be posted on the Ryan Flynn Information site, please go there and use the contact form provided. You can also send email to rfinfo at …

    Lastly, be careful who you talk to online - Ryan has many online identities, and you could be communicating directly with him without knowing it. I have placed a single public link in the rfinfo archive on furl.net to the new Ryan Flynn Information site, and this link will hopefully also appear on the rfinfo WordPress site.

    -rfinfo

Name (required)

Email (required)

Website

Comment







my companies
YowTRIP
Social media platform for world travelers.
www.yowtrip.com

I-Stats
Real-time web analytics application.
www.i-stats.com

archives

search this place


login